Skip to main content

Agriculture Livestock, Fisheries, Irrigation, and Cooperative Development

The Sectoral Committee on Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries, Irrigation and Co-operative Development, derives its mandate from the provisions of Standing Order 217(5) which defines its functions as being to-

  • Investigate, inquire into, and report on all matters relating to the mandate, management, activities, administration, operations, coordination, control and monitoring of budget;
  • Consider quarterly reports of the assigned departments and report to the House within twenty-one (21) sitting days upon being laid;
  • Study the programme and policy objectives of the effectiveness of the implementation;
  • Study and review all county legislation referred to it;
  • Study, access and analyze the relative success of the departments as measured by the results obtained as compared with their stated objectives;
  • Investigate and inquire into all matters relating to the assigned departments as they may deem necessary, and as may be referred to them by the County Assembly;
  • To vet and report on all appointments where the constitution or any law requires the House to approve, except those under Standing Order 208(Committee on Appointments); and
  • Make reports and recommendations to the House as often as possible, including recommendation of the proposed legislation.

Apart from the above mentioned  committee  mandates, the committee consider all matters related to Agriculture, livestock Fisheries, Irrigation and Cooperative development; Crop and Animal Husbandry; Livestock sale Yard; County Abattoirs ;Animal control and welfare including licensing of dogs facilities for  the accommodation, care and burial of animals; Veterinary services( excluding regulation of the profession); Plant and animal disease control; and Irrigation Development and cooperative societies as from the Second Schedule.

  1. Hon. Wafula Waiti                                 Chairperson
  2. Hon. Idd Owongo                                  Vice Chairperson
  3. Hon. Busolo Sudi                                   Member
  4. Hon. Everlyne Mutiembu                    Member
  5. Hon. Simotwo Franklin                       Member
  6. Hon. Jerusa Aleu                                   Member
  7. Hon. Alfred Mukhanya                        Member
  8. Hon. Caleb Wanjala                              Member
  9. Hon. Edwin Opwora                             Member
  10. Hon. George  Tendet                            Member
  11. Hon. Benard Kikechi                            Member
  12. Hon. Martin Chemorion                      Member
  13. Hon. Metrine Wilson                           Member
  14. Hon. Allan Nyongesa                           Member
  15. Hon. Alice Kibaba                                 Member

In the execution of its functions, the Committee is assisted by the secretariats who are non-partisan officers; i.e serves all members of the Committee and representatives of all parties equally.

The Secretariat performs their duties and responsibilities under the direction of the Committee and its Chair and guided by the relevant Laws. As experts in parliamentary procedures, practices and Rules of the County Assembly (Standing Orders), the Secretariats may be requested to give advice to the Chair and members of the Committee should a question of procedure arise.

The Secretariat provides a wide range of specialized administrative services for the Committee, including but not limited to timely research, analysis and information to all members of the Committee. They are the Committee’s institutional memory and unique resource for Members.

The Secretariat provides briefing notes on the subjects being examined; detailed study plans; lists of proposed witnesses; analyses of an issue with a list of suggested questions; background papers; draft reports; news releases; and/or formal correspondences.

The Secretariat assists Members in preparation of legislative proposals or amendments to Bills. At various stages of the legislative process, Members may propose amendments to bills. Amendments may first be proposed at the Committee Stage, during a Committee’s clause-by-clause review of a Bill. Amendments may also be proposed at the Report Stage, once a Bill returns to the County Assembly.