Skip to main content

Labour Relations, Members Service and Facilities

The mandate of the Sectoral Committees is derived in Standing Order 217 (5) and matters assigned under the Second Schedule which shall be exercised within the limits contemplated under Part 2 of the Fourth Schedule to the Constitution.

The functions of a Sectoral Committee shall be to;

  • Investigate, inquire into, and report on all matters relating to the mandate, management, activities, administration, operations and estimates of the assigned departments;
  • Study the program and policy objectives of departments and the effectiveness of the implementation;
  • Study and review all county legislation referred to it;
  • Study, access and analyze the relative success of the departments as measured by the results obtained as compared with their stated objectives;
  • Investigate and inquire into all matters relating to the assigned departments as they may deem necessary, and as may be referred to them by the County Assembly;
  • To vet and report on all appointments where the constitution or any law requires the County Assembly to approve, except those under Standing Order 185 (Committee on Appointments); and
  • Make reports and recommendations to the County Assembly as often as possible, including recommendation of proposed legislation.

Apart from the above-mentioned committee mandate, the Committee also considers: all matters related to County Public Service Board, County Assembly Service Board, Labour, Trade Union Relations, Employment; Manpower or Human Resource Planning; receiving and considering views of Members on the services and facilities provided for their benefit and wellbeing; advising and reporting on all matters connected to the services and facilities provided for Members.

  1. Hon. Hentry Nyongesa                    Chairperson
  2.  Hon. Catherine Kituyi                    Vice Chairperson
  3. Hon. Everton Nganga                      Member
  4. Hon. Jack Wambulwa                     Member
  5. Hon. Anthony Lusenaka                 Member
  6. Hon. Brigid Katasi                           Member
  7. Hon. Joan Kirong                            Member
  8. Hon. Linda Kharakha                      Member
  9. Hon. Everlyn Anyango                    Member
  10. Hon. Charles Nangulu                     Member
  11. Hon. Polycarp Kimeta                     Member
  12. Hon. Metrine N Wilson                  Member
  13. Hon. Alice Kibaba                            Member
  14. Hon. Jerusa Aleu                              Member
  15. Hon. Milliah Masungo                    Member

In the execution of its functions, the Committee is assisted by the secretariats who are non-partisan officers; i.e serves all members of the Committee and representatives of all parties equally.

The Secretariat performs their duties and responsibilities under the direction of the Committee and its Chair and guided by the relevant Laws. As experts in parliamentary procedures, practices and Rules of the County Assembly (Standing Orders), the Secretariats may be requested to give advice to the Chair and members of the Committee should a question of procedure arise.

The Secretariat provides a wide range of specialized administrative services for the Committee, including but not limited to timely research, analysis and information to all members of the Committee. They are the Committee’s institutional memory and unique resource for Members.

The Secretariat provides briefing notes on the subjects being examined; detailed study plans; lists of proposed witnesses; analyses of an issue with a list of suggested questions; background papers; draft reports; news releases; and/or formal correspondences.

The Secretariat assists Members in preparation of legislative proposals or amendments to Bills. At various stages of the legislative process, Members may propose amendments to bills. Amendments may first be proposed at the Committee Stage, during a Committee’s clause-by-clause review of a Bill. Amendments may also be proposed at the Report Stage, once a Bill returns to the County Assembly.