Skip to main content

Public Administration and ICT

The Sectoral Committee on Public Administration and ICT, derives its mandate from the provisions of Standing Order 217(5) which defines its functions as being to-

  • Investigate, inquire into, and report on all matters relating to the mandate, management, activities, administration, operations, coordination, control and monitoring of budget;
  • Consider quarterly reports of the assigned departments and report to the House within twenty-one (21) sitting days upon being laid;
  • Study the program and policy objectives of ministries and departments and the effectiveness of their implementation;
  • Study and review all County legislation referred to it;
  • Study, asses and analyze the relative success of the departments as measured by the results obtained as compared with their stated objectives;
  • Investigate and inquire into all matters relating to the assigned departments as they may deem necessary, and as may be referred to them by the County Assembly;
  • Vet and report on all appointments where the Constitution or any law requires the House to approve, except those under Standing Order 208 (Committee on appointments); and
  • Make reports and recommendations to the House as often as possible, including recommendations of proposed legislation.

The Committee also considers all matters related to Public Administration including County, Sub-County, Ward and Village Administration, public service; broadcasting of the proceedings of the House; public participation; provision of library, publications and research services in the County Assembly, including improvement of the library and research services; utilization of the facilities provided by the library and research services, including use of information and communication technology; and all matters related to Office of the    County Attorney.

  1. Hon. Tony Barasa                                  Chairperson
  2. Hon. Caleb Wanjala                               Vice Chairperson
  3. Hon. Joseph Nyongesa                         Member
  4. Hon. Francis Chemion                         Member
  5. Hon. Job Mukoyandali                        Member
  6. Hon. Cornelius Makhanu                     Member
  7. Hon. Simotwo   Franklin                      Member
  8. Hon. Brigid Katasi                                 Member
  9. Hon. Stephen Wamalwa                       Member
  10. Hon.  Stephen Kaiser                            Member
  11. Hon. Sudi   Busolo                                 Member
  12. Hon.  Grace Sundukwa                         Member
  13. Hon. Jeremiah Kuloba                          Member
  14. Hon. Timothy Chikati                           Member
  15. Hon. Jackson Wambulwa                    Member

In the execution of its functions, the Committee is assisted by the secretariats who are non-partisan officers; i.e serves all members of the Committee and representatives of all parties equally.

The Secretariat performs their duties and responsibilities under the direction of the Committee and its Chair and guided by the relevant Laws. As experts in parliamentary procedures, practices and Rules of the County Assembly (Standing Orders), the Secretariats may be requested to give advice to the Chair and members of the Committee should a question of procedure arise.

The Secretariat provides a wide range of specialized administrative services for the Committee, including but not limited to timely research, analysis and information to all members of the Committee. They are the Committee’s institutional memory and unique resource for Members.

The Secretariat provides briefing notes on the subjects being examined; detailed study plans; lists of proposed witnesses; analyses of an issue with a list of suggested questions; background papers; draft reports; news releases; and/or formal correspondences.

The Secretariat assists Members in preparation of legislative proposals or amendments to Bills. At various stages of the legislative process, Members may propose amendments to bills. Amendments may first be proposed at the Committee Stage, during a Committee’s clause-by-clause review of a Bill. Amendments may also be proposed at the Report Stage, once a Bill returns to the County Assembly.