Skip to main content

Roads, Transport, Infastructure and Public Works

The Sectoral Committee on Roads, Transport, Infrastructure and Public Works derives its mandate from the provisions of Standing Order 217(5) which defines its functions as being to-

  • Investigate, inquire into, and report on all matters relating to the mandate, management, activities, administration, operations, coordination, control and monitoring of budget;
  • Consider quarterly reports of the assigned departments and report to the House within twenty-one (21) sitting days upon being laid;
  • study the program and policy objectives of ministries and departments and the effectiveness of their implementation;
  • study and review all County legislation referred to it;
  • study, asses and analyze the relative success of the departments as measured by the results obtained as compared with their stated objectives;
  • investigate and inquire into all matters relating to the assigned departments as they may deem necessary, and as may be referred to them by the County Assembly;
  • vet and report on all appointments where the Constitution or any law requires the House to approve, except those under Standing Order 208 (Committee on appointments); and
  • make reports and recommendations to the House as often as possible, including recommendations of proposed legislation.

Apart from the above mentioned committee mandates, the Committee also deals with all matters related to County Transport  including County roads, street lighting, traffic and parking, public road transport; firefighting services and disaster management and County Public Works Services.


  1. Hon. Franklin   Simotwo                                   Chairperson 
  2. Hon. Polycarp   Kimeta                                     Vice Chairperson
  3. Hon. Jerusa       Aleu                                          Member
  4. Hon. Job            Mukoyandali                           Member
  5. Hon. Charles     Nangulu                                    Member
  6. Hon. Everline   Mutiembu                                 Member
  7. Hon. Everton    Nganga                                      Member
  8. Hon. Meshack   Simiyu                                      Member
  9. Hon. Idd             Owongo                                    Member
  10. Hon. Godfrey    Wanyama                                 Member
  11. Hon. Violet         Makhanu                                Member
  12. Hon. Henry        Nyongesa                                Member
  13. Hon. Johnston   Ipara                                       Member
  14. Hon. Steve          Kaiser                                      Member
  15. Hon.  Ali              Machani                                 Member


In the execution of its functions, the Committee is assisted by the secretariats who are non-partisan officers; i.e serves all members of the Committee and representatives of all parties equally.

The Secretariat performs their duties and responsibilities under the direction of the Committee and its Chair and guided by the relevant Laws. As experts in parliamentary procedures, practices and Rules of the County Assembly (Standing Orders), the Secretariats may be requested to give advice to the Chair and members of the Committee should a question of procedure arise.

The Secretariat provides a wide range of specialized administrative services for the Committee, including but not limited to timely research, analysis and information to all members of the Committee. They are the Committee’s institutional memory and unique resource for Members.

The Secretariat provides briefing notes on the subjects being examined; detailed study plans; lists of proposed witnesses; analyses of an issue with a list of suggested questions; background papers; draft reports; news releases; and/or formal correspondences.

The Secretariat assists Members in preparation of legislative proposals or amendments to Bills. At various stages of the legislative process, Members may propose amendments to bills. Amendments may first be proposed at the Committee Stage, during a Committee’s clause-by-clause review of a Bill. Amendments may also be proposed at the Report Stage, once a Bill returns to the County Assembly.