Skip to main content

Trade, Energy and Industrialization

The Sectoral Committee on Trade, Energy and Industrialization derives its mandate from the provisions of Standing Order 217(5) which defines its functions as being to-

  • Investigate, inquire into, and report on all matters relating to the mandate, management, activities, administration, operations, coordination, control and monitoring of budget;
  • Consider quarterly reports of the assigned departments and report to the House within twenty-one (21) sitting days upon being laid;
  • study the program and policy objectives of ministries and departments and the effectiveness of their implementation;
  • study and review all County legislation referred to it;
  • study, asses and analyze the relative success of the departments as measured by the results obtained as compared with their stated objectives;
  • investigate and inquire into all matters relating to the assigned departments as they may deem necessary, and as may be referred to them by the County Assembly;
  • vet and report on all appointments where the Constitution or any law requires the House to approve, except those under Standing Order 208 (Committee on appointments); and
  • make reports and recommendations to the House as often as possible, including recommendations of proposed legislation.

Additionally, the committee considers; trade development and regulation including markets, trade licenses (excluding regulation of professions), Investment and Divestiture Policies and fair-trading practices, electricity and gas reticulation and energy regulation.

  1. Hon. Johnston O. Ipara            Chairperson
  2. Hon. John K. Wanyama            Vice Chairperson
  3. Hon. Meshack Simiyu               Member
  4. Metrine Nangalama                  Member
  5. Hon. Wafula Waiti                     Member
  6. Hon. Kimeta Polycarp               Member
  7. Hon. Bernard Kikechi               Member
  8. Hon. Timothy Chikati               Member
  9. Hon. Alfred Mukhanya             Member
  10. Hon. Alice Kibaba                      Member
  11. Hon. Brigid Katasi                     Member
  12. Hon. Angeline Rugut                Member
  13. Hon. Sheila Sifuma                   Member
  14. Hon. Linda Kharakha               Member
  15. Hon. Aggrey  Bosire                  Member

In the execution of its functions, the Committee is assisted by the secretariats who are non-partisan officers; i.e serves all members of the Committee and representatives of all parties equally.

The Secretariat performs their duties and responsibilities under the direction of the Committee and its Chair and guided by the relevant Laws. As experts in parliamentary procedures, practices and Rules of the County Assembly (Standing Orders), the Secretariats may be requested to give advice to the Chair and members of the Committee should a question of procedure arise.

The Secretariat provides a wide range of specialized administrative services for the Committee, including but not limited to timely research, analysis and information to all members of the Committee. They are the Committee’s institutional memory and unique resource for Members.

The Secretariat provides briefing notes on the subjects being examined; detailed study plans; lists of proposed witnesses; analyses of an issue with a list of suggested questions; background papers; draft reports; news releases; and/or formal correspondences.

The Secretariat assists Members in preparation of legislative proposals or amendments to Bills. At various stages of the legislative process, Members may propose amendments to bills. Amendments may first be proposed at the Committee Stage, during a Committee’s clause-by-clause review of a Bill. Amendments may also be proposed at the Report Stage, once a Bill returns to the County Assembly.